Why does Snapchat save my chats

Does Snapchat really delete my snapshots?

Snapchat is a chat app and social network super popular with millennials and teens. The main feature is that every “snapshot” (also known as a photo or video) is automatically deleted after a certain period of time.

These snapshots can be deleted from your phone, but will they also be deleted from Snapchat's servers? This is the question that preoccupies many people. The Federal Trade Commission called Snapchat in 2013 for "misrepresenting" the actual state of private Snaps. So let's look at the current situation.

CONNECTED:What is Snapchat

The simple answer is "no". Snapchat doesn't save your Snaps forever.

The more nuanced answer is that Snapchat doesn't purposely store Snaps longer than it takes for the service to run. However, this means that you can sit on your server for up to 30 days. From the Snapchat privacy policy:

Snapchat lets you capture what it's like to live in the moment. In our case, this means that we will automatically delete the contents of your Snaps (the photo and video messages you send your friends) from our servers after we have determined that a Snap has been opened by all recipients or has expired.

Your snaps stay on their servers until all recipients have opened them. If a recipient doesn't open the Snap for a week, the Snap stays on their servers for that week. If a Snap is not opened for 30 days, it will expire and be deleted.

The safest thing to do is to assume that everything you send through Snapchat will be on their servers for a month. It is enough for one of your friends to lose their phone and not receive your Snap.

Another thing to note is that you can choose to save your Snaps on Snapchat's servers using Snapchat Memories. When you save a Snap in your memories, it will be saved on your servers until you delete it.

When it comes to making Snaps last longer, it's not Snapchat that you need to worry about, but the people you're sending it to. With some third-party apps, another device, or just a screenshot, someone else can save your Snap indefinitely. Even if you get a notification stating that the file has been saved, there isn't much you can do about it. We'd be more concerned about that than what Snapchat is doing.